2018 Call For Directors

cropped-brave-new-poster_11.jpg

Celebrating its 32nd anniversary, Brave New Play Rites is an annual festival of new plays written by UBC Creative Writing students and produced at Studio 1398 on Granville Island.

We are seeking 10 directors for our Full Productions and 2 directors for our Staged Readings Series.

The plays are 10 to 15 minutes each.

Directors will receive an honorarium of $100.

Essential Dates:

  • Tue Nov 11: Director Application Deadline – 12:00
  • Sun Nov 26: Director Interviews – 13:00 to 16:00
  • Mon Nov 27: Director Interviews – 18:00 to 20:00
  • Wed Jan 03: Director Job Offers Go Out – 17:00
  • Sun Jan 14: Festival Orientation and Auditions – 10:00 to 19:00
  • Mon Jan 15: More Auditions – 18:00 to 20:30
  • Fri Jan 19: Submit Casting Preferences – 12:00
  • Tue Jan 23: Confirm Casting – 12:00
  • Wed Jan 24 to Sun Mar 11: Full Productions book your own rehearsals with actors – 10-20 hours total
  • Wed Jan 24 to Sun Mar 11: Full Productions – Production Team communications and rehearsal visits
  • Sun Jan 28 to Sun Mar 04: Free Rehearsal Space Available – 12:00 to 17:00
  • Mon Jan 29 to Mon Mar 05: Free Rehearsal Space Available – 18:00 to 20:30
  • Sun Feb 11: Staged Reading Rehearsal – 12:00 to 17:00
  • Sun Feb 25: Full Production Tech Rider Due
  • Sun Mar 04: Staged Reading Rehearsal – 12:00 to 17:00
  • Sat Mar 10 and Sun Mar 11: Staged Readings – 13:00 and 16:00
  • Mon Mar 12 to Sat Mar 18: Full Productions Technical and Performance Schedule
  • Thu Mar 14: Invoice and Receipts Due

We provide:

  • Festival auditions presenting a large pool of actors
  • Free rehearsal space and performance venue
  • Promotional materials and publicity
  • A collaborative process with the playwright to continue developing a new work
  • Producer support, technical crew and front of house staff

How to Apply:

Email: crwr.bravenew@ubc.ca

Please include your name, phone number, a 50 word biography and your curriculum vitae.

Please put ‘DIRECTOR SUBMISSION’ in the email subject line.

Please also indicate two or three potential interview times you are available on Sun Nov 26 (13:00 to 16:00) or Mon Nov 27 (18:00 to 20:00).

Deadline for Applications:

Wednesday November 15, 2017 at 12:00 Noon
Late submissions will not be considered.
Due to the volume of submissions, only those invited to be interview will be contacted.

All are welcome to apply.

We look forward to hearing from you.

2018 Production Team

Advertisements