2019 CALL FOR LIGHTING & SOUND DESIGNERS

LIGHTING AND SOUND DESIGNERS – JOB POSTING

Brave New Play Rites Festival – March 9-17, 2019

Celebrating its 33rd anniversary, Brave New Play Rites is an annual festival of new plays written by UBC Creative Writing students and produced at Studio 1398 on Granville Island.

For our Full Productions, we are seeking 2 Lighting and 2 Sound Designers, who will each be responsible for 5 plays.

The plays are 10 to 15 minutes each, organized into two programs of 5 plays each.

The Lighting and Sound Designers will receive an honorarium of $75 per show.

Essential Dates:

  • Tue Nov 27th – Wed 28th: Interviews
  • Wed Jan 02: Lighting and Sound Designers Job Offers Go Out – 17:00
  • Sun Jan 13: Festival Orientation – 10:00 to 12:00
  • Wed Jan 25 to Sun Mar 10: Full Productions – Production Team communications and rehearsal visits
  • Mon Feb 25: Directors send Final Cue List and Props List
  • Sun Mar 03: Paper Tech Meeting – 12:00 to 14:00
  • Sat Mar 9 to Sun Mar 10: Full Productions Technical Rehearsals
  • Mon Mar 11: Full Productions Dress Rehearsal
  • Tues Mar 12, Thur Mar 14, Sat Mar 16: Full Productions Program 1 at 7:30pm
  • Wed Mar 13, Fri Mar 15, Sun Mar 17: Full Productions Program 2 at 7:30pm
  • Mon Mar 18: Invoice and Receipts Due

How to Apply:

Email crwr.bravenew@ubc.ca

Please include your name, phone number, a 50 word biography and your curriculum vitae.

Please put ‘LIGHTING OR SOUND DESIGNER SUBMISSION’ in the email subject line.

Please also indicate two or three potential interview times you are available on Nov 27th – 28th

Due to the volume of submissions, only those invited to be interview will be contacted.

All are welcome to apply. We look forward to hearing from you!

– 2019 Production Team

Advertisements

About Brave New Play Rites

Every year, UBC’s Brave New Play Rites Festival premieres ten short full productions and a staged reading series at Studio 1398 on Granville Island. In 2018, the festival dates are March 10-17. The plays, written by UBC Creative Writing students, are an ambitious collaboration between emerging and established directors, dramaturgs, designers and actors from our vibrant artistic community to create stories of profundity, hilarity and chaos.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s